Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Busy doing nothing ...

I wish I'd not written that. Immediately I have an earworm of the song ...and it's bedtime. Not good. And yet that's what today has felt like - as if I did nothing, but felt busy all day and now feel as exhausted as if I'd done a whole day's work.

First of all was not having the Pilates class I'd been expecting, because our teacher has Covid. I still can't get over how so many people are behaving as if it doesn't exist any more, and yet ... Anyway, this meant I had a spare hour in the morning. I spent most of it on the phone to my sister, who leaves tomorrow for a holiday in Italy. Part of me is wildly envious, but the rational part realises that I'm not up to it: I've just discovered through the miracle of Google that holiday fatigue syndrome is a thing, and I suspect that's what's bothering us both.

Nonetheless, having decided that today looked fairly promising, I stripped the bed, washed all the sheets and hung them out. I also changed to the summer duvet, though I've just seen the forecast for tonight suggests a temperature of 7ºc. (Have I asked before on here how you change a king-sized duvet? I favour standing on the bed (for height) and shaking the cover down over the quilt ...). We actually had our lunch in the garden, because the sun came out and felt hot; I later had a go at the rust stains marring our new patio slabs from rusty water that accumulated inside a metal chair frame and dripped all over the patio (equal quantities of baking soda and laundry liquid do the trick, if you don't know). I read the paper in the sun, and we jointly fretted over waiting for phone calls from the dealer who, we hope, is selling us a car. Later I went down the road and bought some pansy seeds to fill the pot I've cleaned; I discovered that my new trainers really are an improvement and make me walk with more bounce. I think too many trainers are flat-footed rather than with a rise in the heel, which is what I prefer.

So there you are. A completely tedious day. But I'm blipping the first rose to appear this year: the one sent by my sister-in-law for our Golden Wedding a few years ago. I like the three stages of a rose that are on the go at the moment. 

I may have more excitement tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.