Here and Now

By Mole

Tropical Feeling

I wasn't up to going to the "little" Memorial Day parade.  I almost never miss it. It was another hot day.  From the back porch, I heard the bands and people pass the end of our street and make their way to the cemetery a few blocks away.  I caught parts of speeches and heard the gun shots.  The fighter jet flew in and tipped its wing above the ceremony, then soared over our house.  The jet noise was horrendous.  All of the animals in the back yard ran for cover.  Chester curled up in a ball behind my chair.  My heart pounded for what felt like a full three minutes.  I pity the Ukrainians subjected to sometimes constant loud noise from artillery and bombs.

God bless America, the land of free, because of the brave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.