Scribbler

By scribbler

Hello, world

The straw fish is from an island in the Caribbean.
For forty years I've hung this mat to mean, This is home.
It was often over a fireplace, is currently in the entryway of my condo.

I pin things on it--especially useful now that I have a stainless steel refrigerator that won't hold magnets. (Who knew?)

The wooden rosary on the cross in the center was worn while I swam in the Dead Sea.

I named this entry "Hello, world" because the straw fish has come to signify the world of places I've been and the world of associations I've made, including saints in heaven and saints on earth.

Countries represented: Canada, Costa Rica, Domenica, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Mexico, Nicaragua, Uganda, Zambia.

In the U.S.: California, Kansas, New York, Oregon, Washington

With each passing birthday I get more ruthless about giving up knick-knacks and mementoes. After publishing these objects, I hope to feel more able to release them.

--------------------------------------------

'A "Hello world" program is a computer program that outputs "Hello, world" on a display device. Because it is typically one of the simplest programs possible in most programming languages, it is by tradition often used to illustrate to beginners the most basic syntax of a programming language, or to verify that a language or system is operating correctly.'
-- Wikipedia


My work life prior to retirement was in the computer industry, so "Hello, world" has a particular resonance for me. I used it partly as a private joke and partly as a shout-out to my new Blipfoto world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.