WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Back in Skipton

 Moored in the basin. Bella likes it here as there are always tourists and people on lunch breaks occupying the benches. She saunters over and sits with them enjoying pats and strokes. (extra)
The children feed the ducks and the pigeons get their fair share too but I love the black headed gulls, they are so handsome.(extra)

After lunch I took Bella for a trot round town. Quite a few shops allow dogs in and she always cautiously puts her head round the back of the counter in the hope of a treat but today nobody had any. I went to the Polish Bread shop and the lady was talking to Bella in Polish. Bella sat staring at her wagging her tail. Her previous owner was Polish and I wonder if she recognised the sound.
 
It’s been a lovely day with only the odd shower.

150/365 
I Have Never…

I have never been on a round the world cruise
and seen the sun setting over Zanzibar
but I have been round the Leeds-Liverpool Canal 
and seen a full moon over the Liver Buildings
I have never worn a diamond encrusted tiara
with a silk gown and silk opera gloves
But I have worn a circle of daisies on my head
whilst sitting in a summer meadow 
I have never met Her Majesty the Queen 
and bowed and curtsied in her presence but
I have met a lady who campaigns against poverty
and been in awe of her dedication
I have never gained my licence to drive a car
and bought a nifty little sports number
but I have two good strong legs 
which get me there and back
I have never stayed in the Savoy hotel
eaten caviar and drank champagne
But I have twice slept in a bivvy under the stars 
a doorstep of a sandwich and water for breakfast

I have never craved wealth or fame
I am happy with my lot.

Goodnight :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.