today's another day

By dbrereton

Show must go on

Was it a show? Was it a gig?
It was both.

Queen + Adam Lambert.

36 years since I watched Queen at Maine Road here we were again. Unexpextedly.

I hadn't booked tickets, a friend had, in 2019, before Covid. Fast forward 2 and a half years and after a text last Friday we are the tickets 'good home'.

Now regulars of this journal know I'm a muso, and a musician, and hence probably a bit of a musical snob from time to time. Queen however were my first band, my teenage awakening, and I've been a fan ever since.

Never thought that they could be any good without Freddie BUT Adam Lambert is perfect. Doesn't try to be the showman, although dresses as if he is, but let's the songs, and Brian and Roger take the spot light.

Then, they used that Live Aid trick of packing the numbers in by doing songs minus the odd verse, hit after hit, banger after banger.

Some great and poignant moments and sure Fred would approve. What didn't they play? LOADS, what did they play, LOADS.

Lights, staging and the whole evening was a joy to watch an enjoy.

I know this may be the last time, but if they go again, I will too.

What a night, emotional wreck after that...pure joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.