Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Faces

Back Blip

Back in March 2021 I posted a photo of the capstones on the Glen Bridge, otherwise known as the Laughin' and Greetin' Bridge*, over the Union Canal near Falkirk. I came that way again today, but thought for my Blip I would show the whole structure.

Today's walk was another leg of my challenge to walk 200 miles of Scotland's canals in 2022 and that six miles between Polmont and the Falkirk Wheel visitor centre means I have now walked the length of the Union Canal from Edinburgh to the Wheel (approximately 32 miles).  

*The Laughin' and Greetin' Bridge (aka Glen Bridge) is so called because of the faces on the capstones on either side - one is laughing and one is greeting (crying) representing the different degrees of effort required to build the Canal eastwards and westwards from this point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.