Busy Busy Bee

By Leasil

A Toe in the Water

After an early morning haircut I headed to the north. My mum and sister collected me from Preston so we could go to The Midland Hotel in Morecambe for afternoon tea. I've wanted to go there for ages to see the restored Art Deco beauty. It's like Miami only cheaper. If you haven't been there, you're missing a treat. It is great. We took tea in the conservatory and looked out of the bay which was flooded with sunlight. Could not have been better.

We were just about to eat when the lady on the next table said "excuse me, do you know that lady?" And pointed to a woman on the beach furiously flapping her arms around. It was my cousin Frances out for a stroll. She came and joined us and we spent the next three hours eating, chatting and walking along the prom.

I loved all the new art and statues that are every few metres along the front. Great credit due to Lancaster Council for how charming it all is. It's been years since I was at Morecambe and I really enjoyed it. My favourite part was the area devoted to Morecambe and Wise. It is witty and fun and people really interact with it. This shot made me giggle because it looks like he has just kicked that little boat aside.

We just said goodbye to Frances and were about to leave when we spotted Uncle George and Chris walking along the prom. Blimey, this family gets everywhere!

Well done Morecambe you gloriously faded old girl, you may be past your youth but you still have a twinkle in your eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.