Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Laugh

Back Blip

In retrospect I swear that heron was laughing at me. The weather was dry when I set out on Sunday evening to walk another stretch of the Forth and Clyde Canal as part of my 200-mile Canal Challenge. 

Having parked in Kirkintilloch, the plan was to walk the four miles to Bishopbriggs and then get a bus back from there to my start-point. All went well until I was about half-a-mile (perhaps even less) from the Leisuredome (aka Bishopbriggs Sports Centre) where I intended to leave the canal part of the walk and traipse up to the main road. 

Well, at that point the heavens opened, didn't they, and I got utterly soaked. An unexpected downpour of almost Biblical proportions left me wringing from head to foot. It was a sodden trudge up to the main road when my misery was compounded by the fact that the next bus back to Kirkie wasn't for another 35 minutes (Sunday evening service, you see).

So, rather than hang around, I started walking back along the main road and reached The Stables before the bus arrived. A four mile walk became one of nearly seven miles. On the plus side, I had dried out a little by the time I got on the bus. And I did have a photograph of a twinkly-eyed heron having a prescient chuckle at my expense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.