The rear view

Spent a day at double graduation ceremonies in the Usher Hall; the first time I'd been in it since its refurbishment. It has scrubbed up very well - and the organ is splendidly thunderous. Elish Angiolini was awarded an honorary doctorate in the morning; I'm told her speech was excellent but unfortunately was mostly inaudible from where I was sitting. In the afternoon I was sitting in a better spot acoustically, but no hon docs given out, just a speech by Henry McLeish. At least one other blipper was present!

Later on, with D returned from a v successful trip to Dunfermline (a home win and the return of the Stevens bridie!) we met our friends Doc and Jill who were in town to see J's son collect his degree at this afternoon's ceremony. The new graduate and his wife joined us after watching some fireworks from Brittania.

I took a sneaky photo of Tom crossing the platform from my vantage point, but unfortunately he was a bit blurred with movement. I decided to blip this magnificent flower display, one of a pair on either side of the platform. They were both very solidly held together in their plastic washing up bowls by yards of gaffa tape. That's duct tape for our friends across the pond. (What would we do without it?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.