What We Leave In or Out

Over the past few months I have become conscious of the fact that I am taking more photographs with my camera held in portrait orientation. I like the way that it can change the way we look at a subject and create a sense of height. While there are lots of subjects that naturally lend themselves to portrait orientation, it can also be used creatively to deliberately restrict the horizontal field of view and help focus the eye on specific areas. With this in mind, and only a few steps from the back door, I took this image this afternoon of a hydrangea backed by some wispy grass. 
I think that when we make images of gardens we often either try and capture the broader, landscape view or a subject in it’s entirety. In this image I chose to capture a section of the subject(s). Thinking about what you leave in (or out) of the frame can make or break an image. I would be interested if anyone else has any views on this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.