Call Me Al.

By callme

Spia d'Italia

The "Rocca" is in the town of Solferino, which is famous for the "Battle of Solferino" which I think was the 1st important battle in the Italian War of Independence and, I know this bit for sure, led to the creation of the Red Cross, I have to confess though the information inside the tower was all in Italian and I'm just about able to order a bottle of wine or maybe an ice cream so large scale historical translations are a bit beyond me at the moment.

Anyway the tower had the name "The spy of Italy" as it had been used to spy on the pesky Austrians who were in control of the north of Italy way back in 1859. Again apologies if I've wrongly attributed conquest and occupation to the wrong nationality... (vino rosso / gelato, remember)

There was also a great view from the top but this one photo a day rule means your stuck with my editorial choices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.