It took 50 years

In the summer of 1972 I met Mr Rat on a walking holiday in Corsica, walking minly in the Corte area in the middle. 8 years later we returned and hired a car so we could see the rest of the island and said we would return one day. It took a long time, and then was delayed by 2 years because of Covid but we finally got there.
Today we went by train to Corte and walked up (and down again) the Tavignano valley among the pines and flowers. We had camped somewhere in the valley all those years ago but I couldn't be sure where it was but it was still beautiful. One day some of the group had been swimming in the river, we didn't but went to explore the town, and said how good it was but it was too late as we were moving on.
Today, we stopped by a pool in the river where the sun was shining and the granite rocks were hot and I persuaded myself to go it - once I was actually properly in it was lovely and not too cold. Mr Rat has photographic evidence, I just have this pic of another pool in the river.
The extra is of Corte from the valley.
(I also managed to fall over taking a pic of dark clouds over the mountains when a "dead" gorse bush tipped me onto a rock, granite is not forgiving!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.