Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Casting a beady eye ...

Today was ... different, fun, stressful, hugely tiring. We went to look at a car, not under our own steam but in a friend's car which just happened to be a rather beautiful early naughties Jaguar. And because we live here, the car hunt involved the usual ferry ride ...

We began by fortifying ourselves in Café Mor, the place I discovered on Saturday (bacon and Stornaway Black Pudding in a roll, coffee) before the dealers. Somehow the whole thing - not the coffee etc - seemed to take an unconscionable time but gave us the chance to drive the chosen machine and find out how very different it felt from our deceased one. It was fun, in parts, and stressful. By the time we left I had a splitting headache and streaming eyes, much of which I put down to hay fever, and a car ordered. (A car which may or may not turn out to be what we thought - of this more when it's not almost midnight. Say no more.)

My photo today comes from the journey home. We were sitting quietly in the Jag when there was the sound of ... feet on the roof, and then this ridiculous crow appeared at the open window beside me. I didn't want it in beside me, but it perched happily on the wing mirror and stayed there for some time. I have a feeling it perhaps regards that ferry as home, as other people have told me they've had the same experience.

The evening felt surreal: a walk before dinner, Compline, football. Football  - what was I thinking of? I suppose I was intrigued by the conflicting emotions on the part of some of the pundits, who supported Scotland but wanted Ukraine to win. (They did.) And this too was stressful. 

And there should be a law against trying to think after 10pm. The end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.