Sebulon

By sebrose

Madrid at night

There are technical problems with the projector setup. Not until after I start my keynote, of course, but I’ve in ten minutes in.

There are another twenty minutes of tedious copying the slides onto another laptop that did seem to work, and then I start again. It goes well enough and I finish a scant 6 minutes late.

Now I’m in conference mode. Some conversations, a few talks of varying levels of interest. A buffet lunch that is insufficient for the number of bellies that need to be filled. But they offer plenty of wine to accompany the morsels.

Last session of the day is The Grand Debate - although it’s not really a debate. Ard has prepared four statements and for each he brings three speakers and three exhibitors to the stage. We each get two minutes to respond to the statement. So, it’s more an invitation to rant.

Ard and I walk back to the hotel. It’s really hot and sunny and, although it only takes twenty minutes or so, my skin feels like it’s caught the sun. Must apply my expensive sunscreen tomorrow!

A quick G&T at the bar, a change of shirt, and it’s off to Madrid for dinner at Habaneros. They start by bringing endless tapas - salmon, salami, mozzarella salad, croquettes, taro balls.

That was probably enough, but they offer a choice of three main courses and three desserts. Vegetarian options are entirely absent, so I chose beef instead of salmon or tuna tartare. And fruit salad for afters.

Full of wine, we get back on the bus. A lovely conversation about contract testing later, we’re back at the hotel. Luckily the hotel bar is closed, so there’s no temptation to continue drinking late into the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.