70 Years

H. M Queen's Platinum Jubilee Fly Past. What a day! Watched most of the Trooping the Colour, as friend popped in for a cuppa. But I did leave the TV on, with the sound off. 

The Trooping the Colour is a wonderful moving spectacle, and the atmosphere is wonderful, but I expect it was even more so today. The weather was perfect, the crowds making their way up the Mall were orderly, and happy. The Queen looked happy on the balcony at Buckingham Palace as the traditional flypast took place. 

My images today were taken from my television screen, the production brilliantly done as always by the BBC.

Footnote : I remember watching the Coronation in 1953 at Granny's house, with all of the family, on a small screen black and white  TV, the day before my 7th birthday. Us younger members got bored with the flickering black and white screen, and finished up behind the settee building Meccano models. Fast forward to 1972 and I was on duty Horse Guards Parade, for Trooping the Colour  and stood behind HM. Happy memories. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.