Windmill 'De Kathammer', Katwoude

'Kathammer' sounds like 'Cat Hammer', but I have the feeling that this has something to do with boats and/or sailing.  Looked it up, but the windmill is the only thing bearing the name.  Oh well...
'Katwoude' sounds like 'Cat-WOW-duh', literal meaning = 'cat woods' or 'cat forest'.  No idea if there were once thousands of cats here, but it's a cute-sounding name.  Part of the municipality of Volendam, and it is close to the large inland lake called the Markermeer, which used to be part of the IJsselmeer ('EYE-sell-mier'), much of which has already been reclaimed.  Click on map and zoom out if you are curious about the geography.

In the comments, H0tamer left a very informative link about the language, and possible linguistic background of 'Katwoude'.  I never knew that!  Thanks, H0tamer!  Unfortunately for non-Dutch speakers, it is in Dutch.

I drove all the way up here to plan for another visit from Cathy, who visited last year --  https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2897483937855048548 . The last time I was in this area was... hold your breath... 1986, when AW and I first met, together with the group I was touring with.  He didn't bring us to this windmill but to a tourist shop called Irene Hoeve ('I-ray-nuh Hoo-vuh'), which is still open.  It's actually a cheese-and-clogs shop, complete with demos, but of course it sells other souvenirs as well.  I hope she likes it.

There will be a few more opportunities to explore the various towns around AMS before she arrives, weather permitting.  That's actually a big IF because it has been so unpredictable, with thunderstorms, downpours, showers, and everything in between.  Driving in the area helps me get re-oriented with the motorways and local roads, various exits, and landmarks.  People these days use GPS, and I would like that on my phone, too, but nothing beats actually going to a place, seeing what it looks like, exploring the atmosphere.  It's easy to just focus on going from A to B, but when you ask folks what they've actually seen, they haven't noticed a thing.  Anyway, Cathy is supposed to be here near the end of June.  For both our sakes, I hope she's lucky.  Should it rain, though, I have other options in mind.

Back at our place, AW and I managed a long stroll late in the afternoon.  We chanced upon a short strip of blackberry bushes, so I think I will be keeping an eye on that.  The ones I've been buying must be coming from the cooling room of the supermarket, or are coming from greenhouses.  Even if that were the case, they taste very, very good, so can't complain.

MOOCking and kitchen duties the rest of the time.  Beau couldn't make it tonight, so no live bridge for AW, but that was okay.  I do hope we get the same weather tomorrow and Saturday.  Big event on Saturday with the young grands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.