Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Castleton

It’s been an interesting week. I answered the phone to what I thought was going to be John only to hear the words “is this Mrs Coombes? I’m a paramedic…..”
John had been hit by a car on his cycle ride home from work. That was quite a moment, but he has been very lucky - one crushed cycle helmet and a bad concussion, some scrapes and bruises but nothing broken. He had a night in hospital as he was totally confused and had memory loss. Thankfully mostly resolved although he cannot remember the accident at all.

Moral of this tale - always wear a cycle helmet.

Today he felt like a day out so I drove to Castleton for tea and cake. It was gorgeous. Sadly on our way back via Snake Pass we were stopped by a horrible accident, it looked like a motorcycle had gone over the side. The air ambulance was there and I was imagining the phone call that some loved one will be receiving. We had to turn round and go all the back along the Pass, where I met a police car doing about 70 on the wrong side of the road. We missed each other by inches and I’m thinking the Grim
Reaper has it in for us this week.

Now home and counting our blessings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.