I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Crazy Horse Memorial

We did the Volksmarch today. It was a 10k (6.2 mile) hike to the top of the sculpture. The main is the back side which you can only see twice a year, the first weekend in June and this year Oct 2nd.

Gary and Judy came to do this walk with us. We were lucky enough to be in the car on the way home when the heavens opened up. My focus was on the hike and taking in my surroundings.

I was amazed at the range in age of those doing this walk. Babies in backpacks to people well into their 80's.

We are all pretty tired but grateful that we were able to do this together.

I liked the scene in the extra...the sign says "blasting area, keep out" The aspen starting to leaf out and the head on view of the memorial from below is something I will only see once. What a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.