Lainymac

By Lainymac

White-tailed Eagle

Went to the Wildlife Centre today with Lisa and little Chloe. Had a blast as all the animals were out and Chloe was in fine form with lots of smiles and cuddles.

Decided to walk home through Camperdown Park as it was such a nice day - a brilliant decision.

Heard the loudest squawk in the sky.
Camera completely unprepared for bird photography, as I had been photographing trees and daffodils, I quickly looked up and took a couple of shots of the giant bird high above me.
Too big to be a buzzard, I thought. Only when I came home and looked at the images did it become clear I might actually have something quite special.
A quick post to some ornithologists and it turns out this is a sub-adult White-tailed Eagle!!

Extinct in Europe until 1970, in August 2008 fifteen chicks raised in Norway were released at a secret location in Fife, in expectation of reintroducing the species in the east coast of Scotland. The White-tailed Eagle is still a rare breeder in Britain.

RSPB Info

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.