Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

More Orchards

My family know me so well!! My in-laws brought an orchid for me as a thank you for having them. Yes, these might have food colouring to make them this shade of blue but I don't care. I love orchids so much. They remind me of Uganda, of home, and of endless warmth and sun. Thunder powerful enough to rattle the glass in the windows and lightening lighting up the sky for a second. The hot, dry seasons when everything's covered in dust and the lush greenery and endless mud of the rainy seasons. All those memories and just one orchid. Blame my dad, maybe, for his collecting of orchids qhen I was younf and spending half an hour trying to figure out how to get an orchid cutting out of a tall tree, whilst the entirety of the nearby village had come out their huts and homes to see what the tall "Mzungu" (white man) was doing and what he wanted. At one point he must have had over 25 different types of orchids and over 50 plants hanging on our veranda and in our garden in Kampala.

One day I will go back and I'll take Hubby and Little Man to the place where I grew up. I just want Little Man to be old enough to remember our time there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.