Cordial

I don't go out walking nearly as much as my body needs and the countryside around me deserves. So when D said that she wanted to explore places around Oxford I said I'd find us a good walk. We're limited by bus routes and schedules (neither of us uses cars) but I found a map and instructions for a very easy 3½ mile walk along the River Windrush taking in the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall which I was keen to see again about 25 years after my last visit with small children.

We managed to make it about twice that distance by missing turnings because we were talking too much, by taking detours to collect elderflowers for making cordial and by hunting off-route for a place with a view to eat our sandwiches but it was a thoroughly good circular walk.

The bus we'd caught runs only twice a day so our journey home involved a detour to Woodstock (the old one) where we tried to ignore all the red, white and blue to drink a pint of Bedford-brewed beer in Tivoli's honour.

I was exhausted when I got home. More walking definitely needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.