Curiosity

Today saw my main (2.5 hours) contribution to the week-long PhD course that our group is putting on. With a room full of 40 students from across the UK - and a couple from abroad - almost everything went wrong, although not badly. The projector kept cutting out - until I realised that I mustn't nudge a "sausage" of gathered cables on the floor; the mic didn't work; once someone got me two whiteboard pens, one was dead, the other moribund; the arrow keys on the keyboard stopped advancing slides - so I had to use the scroller on the mouse! I laughed it off, and I think that it went OK. 

Back home, after dinner I took Django out as the sunny evening went dull. As we reached the gate at the top of the field above the Low Pond, I turned to see a juvenile cow approaching us, followed by a friend. Django's scared of cows, so I guess he didn't notice, or I'd have had a job to get him through the gate. Once through, the rest of the small herd arrived. As I approached home, I suddenly noticed a sunset behind me. At this time of year the sun really does set in the NNW, so we don't see sunsets well. But the long, light evenings are a joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.