Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

In the Garden

We had an open afternoon for the sponsors and guests of the 'Homes for Ukraine' initiative in the Council Offices today.  It was a great success and allowed me to catch up with some of the hosts and guests I'd met during the inspections last month.  What did strike me is that many of the guests were women in their 20s and 30s, Perhaps not so surprising when you appreciate that Ukrainian men between 18 and 60 were not allowed to leave the country after the war had commenced. 

Many of those attending had been there from the morning to attend an ESOL (English to speakers of other languages) course which has been put on to help them to learn our language.  We also had a support team to help them find work while they are here, as well as other support groups.

As seems to be happening more and more I only picked up a camera late in the day so walked into the garden for some inspiration.  

I'd started the day by walking to the pool for a swim and I managed a mile for the first time since returning to swimming, including half a mile non-stop.  My only issue with swimming is the monotony of length after length and if it were not for my Apple Watch I'm sure I'd miscount my lengths.  It is coming easier now and while I'm not getting any quicker I certainly find it easier than when I first restarted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.