Field Day

It was field day for the third graders and I was asked to join one of the groups for the afternoon to support a few students who sometimes get anxious or overwhelmed during such events. It was a pleasant break from the normal routine and everything went swimmingly. The students rotated through various activities outside on a warm, sunny day under a sky with plenty of impressive clouds. One of the stations involved making large bubbles, and I caught this one in the air before it popped. The cloud image was taken somewhat later, as I was feeling totally parched during a game of tag, wishing I had brought my water bottle out with me. I'm still feeling the effects. It was worth it though, and when I got back inside and discovered everything that had gone awry in my absence I was even more glad I had been asked to participate. The daily routines change quite a bit as the year wraps up and lots of kids struggle with that. Not many more days left though. Soon the year will pop like a soap bubble floating high above the clouds and everyone will look back in wonder and ask "did that really happen?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.