We spent the morning and early afternoon in Cisternino for the weekly market. My sandals have been feeling rather tight and I have long believed that one’s feet have to be happy for the rest of the body to stand a chance. There was a very good sandal store (next to Barfod) where I had a wonderful shopping experience. 

I don’t like shopping for shoes. I have large, broad, flat feet that are not always easily accommodated. The woman at the sandal shop was a serious professional with a twinkle in her eyes. My kind of woman. I started by apologising for my poor Italian. She apologised for her poor inglese, but then said she spoke some French - hurrah! Turns out we had about the same amount of French, very pleasing. She was so gentle with my feet, thoughtful and caring. I walked out with a new pair of sandals, happy feet and a lovely memory - hurrah!

Cisternino is a beautiful town and there is something to behold at every turn. Today’s blip reminded me of a photo I took in Japan a few years back. And thanks to Blip, I found my lost Flickr account - hurrah!

Very much feeling a little more Italian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.