Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee - Day 1

A very rare selfie!!

Today was the first of our 4-day holiday weekend celebrating the Queen’s 70 years on the throne. This morning was the Trooping the Colour ceremony. A friend invited me to watch it with her so I arrived with my flag and was dressed in red, white, and blue. The fascinator on my head was the one I wore when I was attended one of the Queen’s garden parties exactly 5 years ago today!

We had plenty of tea and pastries for our little party and very much enjoyed watching the whole thing. It was even more special since I was there yesterday and walked the whole route including visiting the Horse Guards Parade. We toasted the Queen when she and the family arrived on the balcony of Buckingham Palace at the end. The fly-bys were wonderful, but Prince Louis stole the show!  

You can watch the ceremony here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.