meayrs

By meayrs

Alonso Quijano challenges Eva Perón

Alonso Quijano is beter known to the less literate as Don Quijote, 'Don Quixote' even in some circles. Here his effigy in the form of a bronze statue on Avda. 9 de julio in the centre of Buenos Aires seems to be issuing a challenge to Eva Duarte, better known to most perhaps as Evita Perón. Eva was recently reinstated on this tower as CGK aligns herself more with the Evita legend.

This could be the subtext for a thousand socio-political commentaries, but the truth is that I was just having a beer in a pavement cafe near my hotel when the juxtaposition caught my eye. Let the viewer construe what he or she will. I'm here for pleasure, not politics.

Buenos Aires hot and sticky. Tonight dinner with my consuegra (my son's wife's mother - is there a word for this?), and tomorrow lots of tramites, a word fortunately not known either in Manchester, UK. Then south.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.