Shooting the net

In to Berwick this morning on the bus, the first time I've used my bus pass since the beginning of the pandemic. I was the only passenger on the bus for the entire journey...

First, the main purpose of the journey - a hair cut. After a couple of not-very-good cuts nearer home, I decided to go to a guy who's been recommended by a friend. The result was much better, if not exactly what I'd asked for, so I'm happy enough. Next, to the Green Shop, very conveniently next to the hairdressers, for a couple of essentials. Then over an hour to wait for the bus home. Excellent!

Time for a walk around the walls. Stopped for a while on the quayside to watch the salmon fishermen on the Tweed estuary. Only one method of fishing is allowed there now, apparently known as 'wear shot netting'. A coble (small boat) is rowed out in to the stream in a semi-circle, shooting the net from the stern, as in the Blip. The boat then returns to the river bank, while the other members of the crew haul in the net and catch. Didn't wait for them to haul in the net, as I wanted a walk, but even then failed to get much further - I was tempted in to The Granary Gallery, and had a look round the exhibition Truth and Beauty, celebrating the collection of Helen Sutherland, a British patron. An interesting exhibition, and I enjoyed wandering around the gallery, so much so that there wasn't much time left for a walk before dashing to the bus stop!

Back home to continue with the great 'sort out the paperwork' project. Getting there, slowly...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.