Mindfulness

I've always believed that changing the world is about the little things each one of us does.   You don't have to be Einstein, Lincoln, Churchill, Putin.   The changes that really matter are in our hands.   

I've recently come across - by accident as so often is the case - a Radio 4 programme titled Just One Thing in which each short episode focuses on one thing we can all do that can improve our own health and wellbeing.  Recent episodes look at Taking a Nap, Coffee, Dance and today, Meditation.   The many other subjects covered will include some that all of us already partake in but I'm inspired to revisit meditation and to embrace my naps - but not at the same time!

The Achimenes aka Hot Water Plant season is just getting started.   In my little back porch, many pots have plants with flower buds and the first few are opening, soon it will be a riot of colour.   Todays feature is 'Blue Sparks' and I'm sure others will follow.   My main bulb collection may be sleeping now but these are a healthy distraction through the summer.

A work day.   Not too busy at Aber Cafe but there was a Driver Experience train after the last service train, their little buffet tea meant I finished a bit later than usual.   This in turn delayed the dog walk which turned into a blessing as the brief spell of rain had been replaced by lovely evening sunshine by the time we set out.   C & I ended up taking a longer walk than we have been able to for a while.   The Megs certainly enjoyed exploring the scents, thankfully only one of them rolled in something unspeakably smelly.   I guess 'thankfully' is a word only one of us can use though!   It was a lovely, companionable wander.   

Jamie had food for me - to take home as he had an impromptu film night with Clara.   Pizza, washed down with Crabbies ginger beer.  A summer treat.   Now I'm off to listen to another episode before bedtime .... 'Get Some Houseplants'  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.