ARGH!!!

My gooseberry bushes are so heavily laden with fruit that the stems are breaking, so I've spent quite a while attempting to prop up the main stems with whatever I could find on the plot. 600grm of fruit on the one branch that had snapped off. The farmyard manure is paying dividends :-).
It was really chilly on the plot first thing this morning, a cold south westerly wind sent me rushing home to change out of my shorts and back into jeans, & waterproof before walking up to town for the newspaper. I walked Indie a little earlier as it was haircut day, but Tracey messaged to say she was running late so could we do tomorrow instead. No haircut so I did some gardening for Mum until lunch time. Home for lunch then up to the plot. Runner bean, broad bean, sweetcorn, & sunflower plants to get in the ground. I gave Alan, a plot neighbour a tray of sunflower plants. Had a chat with Pam about the plants shes grown on for my charity plant sale.  Did a bit more faffing around the gooseberry bushes, nasty,spiky plants, then wrapped some old net curtain around the brassica bed. Strong winds predicted so a little extra protection would'nt go amiss. Netted the redcurrants by which time it was 5pm.
Nipped to the library to print off the plant sale posters.
Home to watch the end of The Chase then made dinner. Turkey & mushroom pie, Jersey Royals & veggies tonight.
Received a message for Suzanne, the dog walker. Two of the dogs she was exercising Today knocked her over, & she's got a suspected broken wrist so unable to walk Indie until further notice. My duties have just increased.
Up at 4.55am, wide awake, now 23.03pm .... That a long enough Summer's day for me although I have to add the temps are far from Summery.

Thanks to Steveng for hosting Wide Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.