Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A bit of a change ...

Well, they were right, these weather bods - today felt like a return to March. Instead of being wakened by the sun, I felt positively cold when I woke - because our bedroom faces east, where the wind was blowing from, and I'd left all the windows open because it'd been warm. The rain was washing down said windows, and went on doing this all day under only slightly varying colours of grey clouds. In short, it was miserable.

I was pretty miserable too - slept very badly (did I eat something?) and woke insanely early with cold feet. Tea and a hot shower helped a bit, but I still didn't feel like breakfast. My GP asked to see me, so I ended up having a fairly comprehensive MOT and arrangements for tests ... and that was the morning over.

Over the rest of the day I made not one but two loaves (memo to self:more flour), corresponded with a friend on Lewis, and spent a happy couple of hours choosing a selection of poems of R.S.Thomas to study in a seminar I'm taking next week, all being well. It's amazing how time flies when you're completely engrossed - in no time at all I had to make dinner if we'd to stand any chance of "attending" online Compline.  (If you're interested there are several of Thomas' poems online, some with commentaries).

I watched the News an hour or so ago with a feeling of total disbelief: the cost of living, fuelled by the cost of fuel (sorry!); the horrors in Ukraine where I read cholera is becoming a thing; Putin is waging a mediaeval war with the kind of justification that people seemed content with in the Middle Ages. Actually it wasn't disbelief I felt about Putin; it was abhorrence. 

And now it's bedtime again and I need to remember I've not actually written my lesson yet. Apparently we're to get a second-hand tropical hurricane tomorrow. Deep joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.