Cloud over Marston Lodge Farm

I was waiting in my car, as you do, for barn owls to come out and play. It was far too early for them but my attention was drawn by this wonderful cloud hanging over the hills to the east. It didn't develop as a shower cloud and gradually disappeared with the sunset.

Another bonus was that a hare suddenly appeared out of the wheat  and posed at the corner of the field for a good ten minutes.

The barn owls were not that exciting. One took the bait on the far side of a perch where he could not be seen easily. Another grabbed a corpse in a fracas with a sibling and flew off quickly. An adult owl appeared at the door of the nest box, possibly with owlets at her side. I'll only be able to tell when I get the photos up on the computer screen.

Finally, one bird posed nicely on the second perch for around ten minutes but didn't do anything notable. All three cars moved off just after 11 pm.

Up the road from the farm, two sleek badgers ran out in front of me. They dashed into the verges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.