Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Run Geronimo! Run for your life!!!

So I had a pretty pathetic photo day today. A bunch of missed moments - you know, where the shutter clicks just one second too late. Lots of failed attempts at this and that. Finally, I was reduced to taking some close ups of dandelions. I know, I know ... nature's lowliest weed wildflower. I even splashed some water on it to see if I could get a droplet.

It wasn't until I got in and looked at my shots that I realized there was some sort of teeny, tiny red bug all over the flower!! I'm torn between "Yuck" and "Wow!" And I really wish I hadn't tossed the flower off into the woods because I'd have liked to see if I could get a better look at these through the lens. Again, a missed moment. Still, if you look at this large you will see the little red things, running for cover. And now, I am feeling all itchy and creeped out.

Temps got into the mid-50's today, not very springlike but at least the sun was out so I worked in the garden for a bit. My peas are starting to come up. Hopefully with better results than last year when I got a grand total of 10 peas (the individual peas, not 10 pods...sigh). I planted some arugula seeds today as well as some kale - we'll see if anything survives. I think I'm better with flowers than veggies.

Hubs is feverishly working on the race car - the first race of the season is coming up next weekend. He and one of the other drivers are leaving Tuesday to head to S. Jersey where the track is located. A couple of days of practice sessions and then the big 12-hour endurance race is on Saturday starting at noon. I am wisely staying put in N. Jersey!

Thanks for sharing my joy about the chickadees yesterday. They are still busy working on the nest, starting to put in soft materials (feathers and fur) for the middle of the nest where the eggs will be laid. I took a peek today - no eggs yet, but I think she'll start laying any day now, maybe after a few finishing touches on the nest. I put the critter guard on the pole today to keep prying squirrel and raccoon hands out of the nest (and snakes.)

Happy Sunday, folks...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.