Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Dish made from coils

This is a dish I made this week, using coils. One thing that was a revelation was that COILS DON'T HAVE TO BE ROUND! They can be more or less any kind of strip, which is great if you've always produced at best oval coils. So it's a fairly free-form shape and it evolved as I made it - I didn't know how it would look until I finished it. It should look better when it's been glazed and fired - I hope!  

There's an extra of a piece I made last week and I tidied it up a bit this week, although when I saw this photo I realised that I could have done more of that. I don't know if I will be able to do that next week - it's all a learning curve at the moment. It's destined to be a serving dish - I don't eat sushi although that's what it was designed for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.