If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Ivy-leaved Toadflax ( Cymbalaria muralis )

Day 9 of my attempt at posting 30 days wild.  Thursday so visiting Kanyl and doing my habitual wander round his garden.  I didn't see anything I couldn't have got at home (I have my own crop of weeds).  Closing the gate between the front and back garden I noticed the large clump of Ivy-leaved Toadflax.

It is a plant native to southern Europe which has been invasive far and wide including UK and America.  They have an interesting reproductive trick.  The flower stem begins by being positively phototropic (grows towards the light).  Once the flower is fertilised the stem elongates away from the plant and becomes negatively phototropic.  The result of this is the seeds are buried in cracks and niches, giving them the best chance of germinating and surviving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.