(160) Wrong Side of The Tracks

Got the bike out this evening for a few miles. I'm still trying to ride at least one new track/path/street every time I go out and tonight I found a really interesting, if short, route between two places I regularly cycle around. The picture shows a slightly rickety bridge over a small river, set in the middle of an area of farmland. Out of shot behind me is an almost hidden railway line that is long-since disused but is now in the process of being reopened. All good and well you may say, improving public transport links is surely a positive development? I would agree completely if provision were made to retain the facility for walkers, cyclists etc. to cross the railway when it reopens but that, apparently, is not what will happen. Along a four mile stretch of railway there are several paths/tracks that will no longer be any use as traffic-free routes from the Glenrothes area to the coast and people will therefore be forced to use much busier roads and longer routes. That's not exactly what I call progress. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.