Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Eileen

Our kids wanted to go to a softplay today, despite the glorious weather outside. I still have aspirations for our daughter to get back into indoor rock climbing, so we went to the softplay in Ratho EICA to see if she wouldn't rather do a nice 6A+ overhang. Unfortunately, she persisted with the softplay option. Which may have turned out to be a very good thing, because she had to intervene when a bigger boy decided to use her little brother's head as a bouncy chair. I'm not quite sure why, but that's not been the first time he's been picked on in a softplay; and I don't remember it happening with our daughter. Unfortunately, the programme to 'toughen up' the little chap keeps getting postponed by his Mum.

I've not taken that many climbing pictures, but know that it's pretty tough to get the climber's face visible in the frame. This subject was doing a lead-rope climb and happened to look over at me with my camera. I assuaged my conscience by having a chat with her afterwards and showing her this picture. She seemed to like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.