Gifts of Grace

By grace

Interference

I went down to the burn early evening, rain clouds rolling in, to see how the low light was dancing with the water. I love the interference patterns the lowering sun reveals. These abstract shots are some of my favourite images.

As I settled, a beautiful, androgynous young man, maybe fourteen years old, suddenly appeared six feet away on the other side of the burn. Bright red blood was streaming from his forearm as he slashed at it with a piece of glass. A lot of blood. He looked enraptured, let the blood drip into the water, wet a wad of tissue to wipe it away from his designer clothes.

When he saw me he looked confused, I was as unexpected to him as he was to me. He turned away, turned back, smiling reassurance. 'It's OK, it's fake. A joke for my friend.' Not so. All I could manage was 'Doesn't look good, honey.' 'No, it's OK.' And he was off, as suddenly as he had appeared.

I sat and took one hundred shots, the sky darkening all the while. Another similar young man appeared. No blood this time, just a wad of tissues that he wetted in the stream, smirking slyly at me before jumping over the rocks and away.

Confluence, I think, more than interference. Everything connected somehow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.