Blood On The Tracks

And on the walls, the furniture, the curtains, the floor and at least one cast member. In fact, pretty well everywhere except where it should have gone. Using a “splat pack” is always a bit of a hit and miss procedure as you are basically slapping a small sealed bag of stage blood on to yourself (or another actor) with the idea that it bursts and makes it look like you’ve been stabbed or shot. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee of exactly where the split in the pack will occur, which has resulted in “blood” flying everywhere at a certain point in the play. Fortunately, it’s near enough to the end for cleaning to be left until after curtain down. And by the time I took this the stage crew had already cleaned up a considerable amount of gore from the floor and chair. And one cast member had gone off to take a shower! We’ll go for third time lucky tonight and hope the blood goes where it should. Apart from that though, another good performance with no prompts needed. Lots of positive feedback from our audience as well.
In order to keep myself in tip top condition for all these on stage shenanigans, I went for a 5K run this morning. Very pleased to find I’d done my fastest time of the year so far at the end of it. This afternoon has been a bit more leisurely with some light shopping and a coffee and toasted tea cake in the M&S cafe.
As the fuel warning light in my car pinged on a couple of days ago, I took a deep breath and headed to the petrol station to fill the tank. Not quite the hundred pounds plus I’d heard was now average on the news, but as near as damnit. If prices keep rising, it probably will be over £100 next time. I think I’ll start a policy of topping up whenever I get down to half a tank, just so I don’t have an issue with my card maxing out (the pumps will only authorise a maximum of £99 at a time) before the tank is full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.