Wildflowers

I spent a good while stretching this morning while Rich was on today’s cycling circuit and had a little potter up the track with Little Dog. That still didn’t stop my quads reminding me when I set off that this is the fourth day of hilly rides, albeit short ones.

It was another ride that didn’t disappoint. From the moment you started pedalling, the views were of vibrant verdant fields with remote farms down tiny tracks. It was a gorgeous trip over to Nenthead where Dowgang Hush awaited. I’ve dropped down this hill twice on the C2C but never reversed it. It wasn’t desperate though, and the multi-coloured wildflowers dotting the grass verge on the way up was plenty to balance out the effort going in. Just before Garrigill, a left has you heading back over to Teesdale on a wonderfully steady uphill to the stunning plateau that sweeps around the hillside before descending on a beautiful shallow gradient down to Langdon Beck. 

This valley is littered with distinctive whitewashed stone farms and barns. Wondering whether it was a tourism incentive to paint your house white, I’ve discovered it’s a much older tradition. They’re part of the Raby Estate, owned by Lord Barnard, and there’s two possible explanations for the white paint. Firstly, it might show where his lordship could find hospitality and second, it might make it clear to the rent collectors where to knock to collect money owed. Whichever, it makes for a pretty landscape in an area very similar in many ways to the Yorkshire Dales but with these, quite unique.

That didn’t get away from the fact that there was still a hill to head over to get back into Weardale. It’s fast becoming my favourite though. We came in this way on the first day, cycled it in reverse the next and today, back the other way. I think this is my favourite direction, down to the utterly splendid straight road where Rich told me I might break the land-speed record!

I was buzzing at the bottom - what an endorphin kick! I think the best descent around by a long way. 

After a few miles back along the valley, a shower and some food, we headed to The Cowshill Hotel a few yards down the road. Rich has been for a beer and chat with Tiffy every night. Heading back in time, I was encouraged off the sofa for a G&T with, real name, Cynthia, who’s been landlady here for 55 years. She reminded me of my grandma with soft skin, working hands and a gentle sense of humour. It was a lovely hour chatting away before home for feet up and Springwatch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.