The wonders of Wearydale

Today, we took our turns to head up the valley and over to Allenheads. I was here in 2019 for my six year BlipDay on a frosty October day and sat by a wood burning stove.  No need for that though - I had the warmest, sunniest two hours of the day which I really enjoyed. 

From Allenheads, it was another up followed by a phenomenal long descent to the Rookhope Arch for the planned new hill - a delightful ascent with a great view of the valley I’d just dropped through. The wind has changed direction over the last couple of days to a south-westerly which seems to hit the hills full-on. Unlike the beginning of the week, where we were somehow always sheltered, I had to knuckle down a bit near the top before hanging on for the last drop and up. When I thought about it, I realised I’d cycled a much fiercer headwind up Kidstones on seriously fatigued legs. After I reasoned that this didn’t even compare wind-wise or leg-wise, I felt much better. Cycology is everything!

I’d spotted a little lane on the map to take at the end that Rich had said was worth it. He failed to tell me it was mostly uphill, but the view across our valley for the finale to the week was most definitely worthwhile.

It also meant I had beans in my thighs for the last pull to our cottage. We both recorded land-speed slows today (hardly surprising with 2300 feet of ascent in just under 15 miles) but had also both thoroughly enjoyed our final outing from lovely Weardale, described like this in Simon Warren’s 100 Climbs: “in the space of a few square kilometres, you’ll find arguably the highest concentration of killer hills anywhere in England.”

I’d add ‘awesome’ killer hills but on that note, I rename this valley, Wearydale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.