Trees (and a piece of cake)

Bertie and I regularly pass this crag when we walk along the wee glen. Recently, I noticed the wide cracks in the basalt rock and realised what had caused them. Growing out of the crack is a small rowan tree and the cracks have opened up as the roots of the tree have expanded while searching out weaknesses in the rock. It’s a perfect example of biological weathering which I used to teach my geography classes back in the twentieth century. It’s a shame that I didn’t have then this photograph which I took this morning.
At the other end of the day, I was amongst trees again, but this time it was rather a different scene. I was back in my old primary school which is now an arts centre where, for one night only, there was a celebration of favourite trees. 
For over a year now, a group of interested people have been gathering tales from local folk about their favourite tree on the island. Some of these folk have even hosted a “Tree + Cake” gathering at their favourite tree. On 6th May I blipped one such gathering that I had attended. Tonight, while we ate cake, we were able to hear and read about quite a number of the favourite trees and view photographs and films of the gatherings. It was very interesting to discover the very varied reasons why each person had chosen the tree for which they had an affinity. 
The extra shows one corner of what was once my old Maths classroom, which held part of the exhibition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.