Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

The Good Doctor

A dozen or more years ago, I was wandering around Woodlands Cemetery with the legendary blip artist Ceridwen. We spotted this monument, which reads, 
"Doctor Susan Smith
"Died Feb 12, 1883
"Who labored to better the condition of women prisoners"

I informed the cemetery office of all I could find out regarding Doctor Sue, including her championing the case of the impoverished young Hester Vaughn, rescuing her from death row on the charge of infanticide by alerting the national women's movement. The office was pleased to know, and the grave very soon sprouted this lovely vegetation, never being neglected since. This is a cherished grave.
Now I see that Hester Vaughn's case has been researched quite well since I looked into it. Of course that's good, but I'm disappointed that the Wiki article has missed Doctor Sue. I recall learning that she and Vaughn were both immigrants from either Guernsey or Jersey --which Island I have forgot.

Extra: In the park near my place, I admired this low and splendidly long bough of a London Plane tree. I'll guess it's around forty feet long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.