Garbh !

Bha i gaothach agus ceòthach

Laura is visiting us for the weekend so we could do a reconnaissance of Schiehallion in advance of her leading a group of her fellow ramblers up next month.

Conditions however were less than ideal for our ascent - in addition to frequent showers we had to contend with winds including some fierce gusts.

It was hard going at times and I did consider turning back but didn't relish prospect of making my way across the boulder field which is the approach to the summit on my own and so I kept plodding on following T & Laura.

Conditions got better as we neared the summit and fellow walkers were encouraging in telling us we were nearly there and we all made it. Yey us ! 

Coming down was tricky with the wind now behind us and the boulders slippy from the rain but we took it easy and made it down safely.

This was my second time up Schiehallion and it was harder than I remembered - perhaps it is like childbirth and you forget the pain ! However it was worth the effort and we even got to look down on a rainbow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.