This is the day

By wrencottage

This is the day ...

"This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it." Psalm 118 v 24

I have been thinking for a while that I’d like to change the name of my journal. When I was first introduced to Blip by Honeycombebeach at the beginning of the year, I had no previous experience of it, but loved the look of it and decided to join on the spot. This meant that I was a bit unprepared when it came to giving my journal a name. I chose "The wren and the dormouse" because wrens are my favourite birds, and dormouse was one of my childhood nicknames, but I have never really liked it as a journal name.

Suddenly a new name for my journal just popped into my head, and I can’t believe I didn’t think of it before. "This is the day" … the first four words of the text that my husand and I were given by our Vicar on our wedding day nearly 51 years ago. 

The text is so special to us that we chose to have the words carved into the top of the dresser that was made for us over twenty years ago by Peter Hall & Sons in Staveley, Cumbria and which stands in our family room. Its shelves are full of keepsakes and little family treasures – for example, there’s a "Best Coffee Maker" badge there which belongs to Grandpa! The coronation plate you already know about because I blipped it during the Queen’s platinum jubilee celebrations. The text beside the wedding photo was embroidered for us by my mother, and there’s a close up of it in the extras. Don’t you think it was brave of me to upload a photo of us on Blip?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.