PeterMay

By PeterMay

A Winter Grave

I spent the morning shooting the same two-minute promotional video nine times in different locations, trying to get both the light and the sound quality just right.  It meant lugging my laptop around with me to get the best quality video and take advantage of a desktop teleprompter.  I ended up perched among the rocks at the end of a breakwater that reaches out into the Gulf of Saint Tropez, where I finally got the take that I used.

The irony is that the trade sales promo is for a book set in Scotland during a deep freeze winter.  It’s called “A Winter Grave”.  And here I was shooting the video in 30 degrees on the Côté d’Azur.  But don’t go looking for the book in the bookshops just yet.  It won’t be out till next January.

My blip is a still taken from the video, as I spoke earnestly to camera about climate change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.