Memories in the St. Francis Xavier Chapel

Up early to beat the heat. Hubby went to church to assist the Knights with an outdoor project. I weeded the garden until hubby could help with raising the tomato baskets to gain access to more weeds. We moved all the movable flower planters to the front garden and raised veggie bed. Then we tested the sprinkler system to make sure they’d get sufficient water while we are away. I put tags on the other four planters for Mack and Parker’s benefit. Hopefully, they can help with the kitties/watering this time. We pulled the grasses that were growing between our patio pavers by the bird feeders. That is probably our most dreaded outdoor job. Wire grass is so stubborn. We checked off a few other pre-trip tasks and then hopped in the shower to prepare for the second part of our day. We watered my son’s flowers since his family is at a lacrosse tournament this weekend. The boys had a tough day, losing both games. Brooklyn and her mom are also away for a soccer tournament; her team’s games both ended in a 1-1 tie. My sister and BIL hosted our mother, nephew and his family and us for a pulled pork dinner. My donation was slaw, watermelon and we picked up Old Bay flavored sauce from Mission BBQ. We attended Mass at the “family” chapel on St. George Island. I have such special memories here. My Colorado sister and BIL (my nephew’s parents) were married there almost 50 years ago. My nephew brought his son who he named Harrison, after my father, to be baptized in this church on Easter Sunday, a few years ago. The pastor remembered the day well. We said our good-byes at church since we leave tomorrow. It’s been wonderful making memories with this sweet family. I have over 12,000 steps so the recliner is calling my name. Thanks for stopping by. No news to ruin our otherwise peaceful day. “Take your troubles to the Chapel, get down on your knees and pray. Your burdens will be lighter, and you'll surely find the way.” - Elvis Presley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.