a small flicker of hope?

I don't think anyone can come home from Sarajevo without being affected in some way - it's a city rich in history, sometimes fascinating, sometimes frightening. A place that seems to hold hope in its multicultural nature as well as doom in its poverty and war damage.
I don't really believe that lighting a candle actually does anything but I still like to do it as I have the primitive, human love of the light that fire brings. If I am ever persuaded into a church I light a candle in front of Mary - mothers are important, mothers hold the key to the future. If mothers can raise sons who know how to be gentle and kind and how to treat other people with respect then the world will be a better place. If daughters are raised to be strong and independent and not afraid of asserting themselves, then the world will be a better place. Fathers also have a very important role to play, of course, but this candle was for mothers everywhere to give us strength and hope in the hard task we have when we raise our children and then have to let them go out into the world - hopefully to make it a better place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.