Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

When I was Young

On Sunday

My Mammy went to early Mass at 8am. Then at 11 o’clock my Dad brought me and my sister and 2 brothers to late Mass. then he brought us for a walk down Dun Laoghaire pier (even if it was blowing a hooley and lashing rain).

We would have had our bath on Saturday night and my Dad would have polished our ‘good’ shoes. And on Sunday morning, We would wear our ‘Sunday’ clothes and patent leather shoes . As we left the house, my Mammy would say to my Dad ‘don’t forget to buy the ice cream and minerals’

(Minerals were what we called nowadays fizzy drinks). My Dad would have bought a large bottle of Taylor Keith Red lemonade and a block of HB Ice Cream and a packet of wafers.

We were brought up to not eat between meals (the word snack never crossed our lips ) and a glass of minerals on a Sunday was a major treat. Ice cream wafer for dessert / well that was heaven.

So because everything in life goes in circles, I asked my Mammy today (who is 98 and who I care for every second week ), what would she like for dessert on this here Sunday…. Jean, she said, I would love a wafer ice cream

So this is exactly what I would have had as a treat on a Sunday,, but today I am giving to the Mammy for a treat … well now, iffen I had really splashed out, it would have been a Neapolitan




***



Today for the record

Swim
Walk
Coffee
Tennis (Martina and I beat Kathy and Liz in 2 sets)
Baked 2 porridge health cakes
Made dinner for my Mammy

And soon I will plonk myself on the couch to watch Hitchcock’s Vertigo … a study in colour psychology. (I know this because I am a stoodent) … it’s on RTE 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.