Richard P

By ricky_p

Neidpath Tunnel

Like yesterday and the aqueduct, this is the feature where I spent a lot of today trying to find a geocache. Even though I had noticed the cache would be in a tunnel before I set off, I had wrongly assumed the tunnel would be lit like the ones in Edinburgh. Out here in the Borders, outside Peebles, it was pitch black. 

The tunnel is 600 yards long and since it curves, there is a section where there is no natural light and you can't see either entrance. The geocache was in this section at least 200 yards into the darkness. 

I got freaked straight away as I only had my phone as a torch. I probably got 50 yards before I turned around and went back to the car. I looked at past geocache logs and decided I was being a wuss as other cachers had found it with just their phones. I went back, got a little bit further but again decided it was too scary. Upon exiting some walkers were approaching with a head torch so I accompanied them through but I didn't have time to stop and search although I did spy the likely cache location. Even though I had just walked through I was too scared to retrace my steps so I walked all the way around round. Something then told me it was now or never so I cautiously hugged the wall until the chamber I spotted before and luckily it was a quick find. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.